Here Comes The Change and The Trial

The Trial

Earlier this week, Elder Ballif found out a childhood friend, who was newly out on a mission, was sent home because he witnessed a suicide.

The tragedy occurred before the conference weekend and Elder Ballif found out a few days later after he wrote last week’s mass letter.

The impact has got to be a weight on his shoulders, but he bore it well and is soldiering on.

This kid amazes me with his strength, though I know he has shed some tears and felt deeply for his awesome friend who was severely shaken.

Our families have been in contact with the young missionary who was released pending results of therapy.

Please pray for this young man.

The Change

Then this happened a few days later…..

Hey Mom and Dad,

I just found out recently that I am getting transferred tomorrow morning to Columbus due to a missionary going home for medical reasons. I’m just telling you this so you know not to have anything sent to the Breaeburn apartment cuz, well, I won’t be here. By the way, I did get the package today and thank you so much. 🙂 Talk to you Monday.

Hello Everybody,

This week has been kind of eventful. It started out normal and then on Thursday night, I got a call from President Cleveland and he told me to pack my bags and be ready to go to Columbus the next morning at 7 a.m. There was an Elder who was companions to Elder Heimuli that had to go home due to a surgery that would take a while to recover from. So, I am with Elder Heimuli in Columbus, Indiana and have been for nearly 4 days.

DSC01289

It was sort of a surprise because Elder Heimuli and I both came out to the mission on the same day and had actually joked around about being companions. Well, evidently, when we joke it becomes prophecy haha.

Anyway, Columbus has been great and I have given my new address to my dear mother. So, if any of you back home would like to write any letters or anything else crazy like that (Insert: ELDER BALLIF LOVES GETTING PACKAGES OF STUFF!) she is the one to talk to.

The work in Columbus has been going great! I am amazed at the success that Elders and Sisters here have been able to have. Elder Heimuli and I currently have 3 people on date to be baptized and one of them, Michelle, is scheduled for Oct. 24th and we are excited for her. The other 2 are brother and sister and I actually haven’t met them yet, but soon will, hopefully.

I think that about wraps up this week. It is hard to believe I have now had 4 companionships and am already 4 months out. Time sure does fly. Love you all! Thanks for all the support!

Love,

Elder Ballif

Leave a Reply

